Learning from Museums

Posted on Updated on

[Post by Janet Smoak]

Museums that focus on community, culture, and a shared history are my favorite places to learn about others. And the guided tour of the Balay Cuyonon was inspirational.

IMG_5016Though I was in a place completely foreign and unexpected, when it came to learning about a culture, I did so in the exact same way I share who I am in my museum setting. Museums are common denominators in story-telling–the same tools, the same presentation style, different words and examples. The other cultural sites we visited were the same. Learning cross-culturally has no language barrier.

We embarked on this grant to understand and develop cultural heritage tourism through an exchange with the Cuyonon; understanding that the way we impart information has no language or experience barrier is the true value I received.

Leave a Reply

